Have you or someone close to you been involved in a DUI accident? Well, you need the best Vidalia DUI accident lawyer if you want to file a claim. Our car accident attorneys at The Weinstein Firm have ample experience handling DUI cases in Georgia. By letting our experienced attorneys handle your case, you can rest assured that you will be in the best hands. Call our firm now at 770-HELP-NOW and we can start working on your DUI accident case in Vidalia, GA.
Drunk Driving Statistics In Vidalia, GA
In 2018, the state of Georgia reported 375 total fatalities from alcohol-impaired driving. Out of that number, 30 were caused by drunk drivers under the age of 21. At least 139 drivers under 18 years old were arrested driving under the influence. 23,449 were the total number of drivers who were arrested in Georgia driving under the influence.
What Are The BAC Limits In Georgia?
Under Georgia law, there are 3 legal Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) limits. These are:
• For drivers 21 years and below, the legal limit is 0.02.
• For drivers 21 years and above, who drive non-commercial vehicles, the BAC limit is 0.08.
• Finally, for people who drive large trucks and commercial vehicles, the legal limit is 0.04.
What To Do After An Accident With A Drunk Driver In Georgia
Have you or someone close to you been injured by a drunk driver? Well, at the Weinstein Firm, we sympathize with anyone who has been hurt by a drunk driver. We have a team of experienced DUI attorneys who are ready to start working on your case. We can guarantee that you will receive the compensation you deserve after a drunk driving incident.
If you or someone close to you has been involved in a drunk driving accident in Vidalia, GA, you need to take the following steps immediately.
1. Get Medical Assistance
Even if you don’t feel like you are seriously injured, you need to get medical help. Your body might still be in shock so you might not recognize the injuries immediately. However, you might start experiencing problems later on such as pain in the neck, back, and soft tissues. Note that, if you want to file a compensation claim, it’s important to get medical help immediately. If you wait for a long time, it will make it harder to prove that your injuries were caused by a drunk driving accident.
2. Report The Accident To The Police
Don’t forget to report the case to the police. Note that, the police report will be used for your compensation claim. Therefore, make sure you follow up to get the police report.
3. Record The Scene Of The Accident
Make sure you take photos and videos of the scene of the accident. They will come in handy as evidence for your compensation claim.
4. Talk To The Witnesses.
If there are any witnesses to the accident, make sure you talk to them about the accident. Note down their names and contact information because they will be used for your compensation claim too.
5. Contact The Weinstein Firm.
By seeking the services of a lawyer immediately, you will be protected legally when you file a claim for your injuries. We offer a free initial consultation to any victims of drunk driving accidents. Therefore, you don’t need to worry about the charges until we have started working on your case.
What Damages Can You Recover After A Drunk Driving Accident In Georgia?
After a DUI accident, you are entitled to compensatory and punitive damages but it depends on the circumstances of the accident. You will receive compensatory damages where your percentage of fault is less than 50%. It’s easier to determine liability in a DUI case because the other driver is always intoxicated. However, there might be a problem if both drivers were under the influence at the time of the crash. Some of the damages you might receive include:
• Lost wages
• Medical bills
• Pain and suffering
• Physical property damage
• Travel expenses
Any punitive damages are normally capped at $250,000 in the state of Georgia. But this limit doesn’t apply if the defendant’s judgment was “substantially impaired” by alcohol or drugs. Of course, they can only be awarded by a jury after a trial where the evidence in the case is evaluated thoroughly.
How Long Do I Have To File A Claim In Georgia?
If you want to receive compensation after becoming a victim of a DUI accident in Vidalia, GA, you should file your claim within 2 years after the date of the accident. Make sure you file the claim as early as possible if you don’t want it to be voided because the statute of limitations has expired. That’s why it’s a good idea to call The Weinstein Firm after being involved in a drunk driving accident so we can start working on your case immediately.
How Much Will An Attorney Cost?
Are you worried about hiring an attorney after being involved in a DUI accident because you are worried about the charges? Well, thankfully at the Weinstein Firm, we work on a contingency basis. It simply means that we will not charge you any legal fees until we have received compensation for your case. Note that, we will not charge you for the initial consultation too. Call us now and our DUI attorneys can start working on your case immediately.
Call Our Vidalia DUI Accident Lawyers
A drunk driving accident can be very serious depending on the circumstances. Therefore, if you have been involved in a drunk driving accident, you need to make sure that you are compensated for your injuries and losses. By working with The Weinstein Firm, you can rest assured that your case is in the best hands.
We have years of experience in handling DUI cases so we can start working on your case immediately. Even better, our team will be dedicated to working on your case because we don’t get paid until you receive your compensation. Call us now at 770-HELP-NOW and our Vidalia DUI accident lawyers can start working on your case so you can get your compensation.