The Georgia points system penalizes drivers for traffic law violations. The Department of Driver Services (DDS) adds points to a driver’s license. For example, if you receive a moving violation from the police, the DDS would be notified and then add points based on the severity of your offense to the driving record.
Proving the other driver was at fault in a car accident is often difficult if you have several points on your license. But it isn’t impossible. Our auto accident attorneys in Atlanta can help if you were in an accident with a careless driver. Keep reading to learn all you need about the Georgia points system.
How the Georgia Points System Works
Points are a way of determining who the problem drivers are in Georgia. It’s a way for the government to track and rate the different offenses of a licensed driver in the state. Most people do not know the severity of a traffic violation in Georgia.
The Georgia points system corrects this by giving points for each infraction. The number of points given ranges from one to six. The more points you receive, the more serious the law enforcement officials find your violation.
An example of how the Georgia points system works is running a red light or going over the official speed limit. Such offenses will add up to five points to your record. Alternatively, refusing to yield at an intersection could earn you three points on your record. This would have you wondering how many points you need before DDS suspends your license.
Under the Georgia points system, you can get your license revoked or canceled when you accrue 15 or more points within two years. But, unfortunately, that’s not the only consequence of accumulated points in Atlanta.
Excessive points could also result in difficulty obtaining coverage and higher insurance rates. Additionally, some insurers will ask you to take expensive and time-consuming driver education courses.
As an Atlanta resident, you can contact the Department of Driver Services and ask for a reduction of your points. The Georgia points system allows up to 7 points reduction every five years.
How Many Penalty Points is a Speeding Ticket in Georgia?
A speeding ticket in Georgia ranges from 2 to 6 points. According to the point schedule by the DDS, points are added to your driver’s license for the following speed limit infractions:
- 2 points for 15-18 mph
- 3 points for 19-23 mph
- 4 points for 24-33 mph
- 6 points for 34+ mph
According to the Georgia points system, you can also get points for speeding on a bridge, work zone, or structure. For example, driving over 34 mph in a construction zone can get you more than 6 points on your driving record.
How Long Do Georgia Penalty Points Stay on Your Driver’s Record?
The Georgia Department of Driver Services disclosed that points stay on your driving license for up to two years. However, after 24 months of the individual points being added, they will be removed.
The date of the violation is used to determine the 24-months validity period. But for persons under 18, the points only last for 12 months, under the Georgia points system.
How To Know the Total Points on Your Driver’s License
It’s essential to routinely check your records, especially when you’ve had more than one ticket within 24 months. In addition, checking will help you determine when the DDS added the points and when they’ll remove them.
To check your penalty points, request a copy of your driving history reports on the official website. Alternatively, you can ask for it physically at the Atlanta DDS customer service location.
You pay $60-$80 depending on how far back you need the record to be. If you request a copy online, you will receive a version you can only view. However, access to this record is only available for 30 days, and you can’t download it either.
You can request a certified version to be printed and forwarded by mail. However, an online copy is the best option if you don’t need it for official purposes.
Auto Accident Attorney in Atlanta Explains How to Get Points Off Your License
As mentioned, DDS could suspend your license if you accumulate 12 points or more on your record within 24 months, under the Georgia points system. That’s why keeping track of your penalty points is essential to ensure you’re not just one day away from losing your license. Unfortunately, Atlanta is a fast-paced metropolis, and it’s easy to accumulate too many demerit points before you know it.
The Georgia Department of Motor Vehicles is an excellent spot for all the resources you need when you have questions about your driver’s license and how to remove points from your records. You may be able to remove points by paying a fine or taking traffic school courses within a year of the violation date.
Alternatively, you can try to remove points by completing an online driving safety course, according to the Georgia points system. However, you must pass the final exam with at least 80% accuracy.
How Many Penalty Points Count as a Super Speeder in Georgia?
The maximum speed limit for automobile driving in Georgia is 70 mph on highways. A super speeder is any driver convicted of speeding at 75 mph or more on a two-lane road, under the Georgia points system.
Additionally, any driver convicted of driving at 85 mph or more on any Georgia road is considered a super speeder. Apart from fines and fees paid to the jurisdiction where it took place, a super speeder must also pay $200 before they’re eligible for driving privileges again.
Failure to pay the super speeder fine in 120 days will result in your driver’s license suspension, under the Georgia points system. This would require an additional $50 license reinstatement fee and a $200 fine.
Contact an Auto Accident Attorney in Atlanta for Help
Accidents happen every day, and they have adverse consequences. At The Weinstein Firm, we have won millions of dollars in compensation for victims of traffic accidents.
If you or any of your loved ones were injured in an accident due to someone else’s negligent actions, our reliable auto accident attorneys in Atlanta will work diligently to help you secure maximum compensation. Contact our Georgia injury attorneys for a free case evaluation today.