State Court of Fulton County

The State Court of Fulton County was established by the Georgia legislature in 1913. State Court exercises limited jurisdiction over both civil and criminal matters.

The Criminal Division

The Criminal Division of Fulton County State Court oversees the prosecution of misdemeanor crimes, including traffic offenses, committed in Fulton County. A case is initiated in State Court when the Solicitor General accuses a citizen of a criminal or traffic offense by filing a document with the Clerk’s Office. A criminal case can be initiated for a variety of offenses, to include:

  • Driving Under the Influence
  • Theft
  • Violent Crimes
  • Traffic Infractions
  • Ordinance Violations

The Civil Division

The Civil Division provides a resolution to civil actions regardless of the amount in controversy including attachments, garnishments, proceeding against tenants, foreclosures, and all other actions in which exclusive jurisdiction is not in the Superior Court. The Civil Division of Fulton County State Court oversees the adjudication of certain civil matters that include:

  • Garnishments
  • Dispossessory Actions
  • Personal Property
  • Foreclosure
  • Torts
  • Contracts
  • Medical Malpractice

Self-Help Center

The Fulton County State Court Self-Help Center is dedicated to serving the public by providing informed access, information, and support services to persons having legal matters in the State Court of Fulton County.

Services Include:

  • Public Access Terminals
  • Self-Help Videos
  • Attorney Consultation—Landlord/Tenant Issues
  • Legal Forms
  • Legal Research & Reference Materials
  • Foreign Language Services
  • Referral Services
  • Basic Court Information
  • Color Copies

Traffic Citations

The Traffic Violations Bureau processes traffic citations issued by law enforcement officers around Fulton County. Citations are processed and made available online within 2-3 weeks of the scheduled court date.


Each of the ten judges who staff the bench is elected to four-year terms of office.

  • Chief Judge Wesley B. Taylor – Division H
  • Judge Susan E. Edlein – Division D
  • Judge Diane E. Bessen – Division J
  • Judge Myra H. Dixon – Division C
  • Judge Fred C. Eady – Division Y
  • Judge John R. Mather – Division G
  • Judge Jane Morrison – Division E
  • Judge Patsy Y. Porter – Division B
  • Judge Eric A. Richardson – Division F
  • Judge Jay M. Roth – Division A

Location & Contact Information

185 Central Avenue, SW
Atlanta, GA 30303

Phone: 404-613-5040


Weinstein law firm logo
Let's get started with your FREE consultation