State Court of Cobb County

The State Court of Cobb County was established by the Georgia legislature in 1964 and began operating January 1, 1965. State Court exercises limited jurisdiction over both civil and criminal matters.

The Criminal Division

The Criminal Division of the State Court of Cobb County oversees the prosecution of misdemeanor crimes, including traffic offenses, committed in Cobb County. A case is initiated in State Court when the Solicitor General accuses a citizen of a criminal or traffic offense by filing a document with the Clerk’s Office. A criminal case can be initiated for a variety of offenses, to include:

  • Driving Under the Influence
  • Theft
  • Violent Crimes
  • Traffic Infractions
  • Ordinance Violations

The Civil Division

The Civil Division provides a resolution to civil actions regardless of the amount in controversy including attachments, garnishments, proceeding against tenants, foreclosures, and all other actions in which exclusive jurisdiction is not in the Superior Court. The Civil Division of the State Court of Cobb County oversees the adjudication of certain civil matters that include:

  • Garnishments
  • Dispossessory Actions
  • Personal Property
  • Foreclosure
  • Torts
  • Contracts
  • Medical Malpractice

Self-Help Center

The State Court of Cobb County Self-Help Center is dedicated to serving the public by providing informed access, information, and support services to persons having legal matters in the State Court of Cobb County.

Services Include:

  • Public Access Terminals
  • Self-Help Videos
  • Attorney Consultation—Landlord/Tenant Issues
  • Legal Forms
  • Legal Research & Reference Materials
  • Foreign Language Services
  • Referral Services
  • Basic Court Information
  • Color Copies

Traffic Citations

The Traffic Violations Bureau processes traffic citations issued by law enforcement officers around Cobb County. Citations are processed and made available online within 2-3 weeks of the scheduled court date.


Each of the twelve judges who staff the bench is elected to four-year terms of office.

  • Chief Judge Carl W. Bowers
  • Judge Eric Brewton
  • Judge Bridgette Campbell
  • Judge Jason B. Fincher
  • Judge Maria B. Golick
  • Judge Marsha S. Lake
  • Judge Jane P. Manning
  • Judge John S. Morgan
  • Judge Ashley Palmer
  • Judge Allison B. Salter
  • Judge Diana M. Simmons
  • Judge Jaret Usher

Location & Contact Information

12 East Park Square
Marietta, GA 30090

Phone: 770-528-2660


Weinstein law firm logo
Let's get started with your FREE consultation