Magistrate Court of Cobb County

The Magistrate Court of Cobb County was established in 1983 by the Georgia Legislature and replaced the former Justice of the Peace System. The Cobb County Magistrate Court is one of the largest Magistrate Courts in Georgia.

The Magistrate Court is often referred to as the “People’s Court” due to the ease of accessibility and varied nature of matters, both civil and criminal.


To provide the highest degree of judiciary and support services to those seeking judicial remedy from both civil and criminal issues and to diligently uphold state law to ensure that victims and defendants receive the entitlement prescribed by law.

General Information

The Magistrate Court of Cobb County’s goal is to provide citizens with the most up-to-date and convenient information available regarding the processes and procedures utilized by Magistrate Court in handling issues involving abandoned motor vehicles, bad checks, garnishments, and small claims as well as providing information about mediation and weddings.

One of the primary responsibilities of the Cobb County Magistrate Court is to issue arrest warrants followed by the determination of probable cause in criminal cases.

Only in ordinance violations does the Magistrate Court determine guilt or innocence. This court handles issues involving abandoned motor vehicles, bad checks, small claims.

The Civil Division

The Magistrate Court of Cobb County’s Civil Division, also known as Small Claims Court, handles Small Claims, Dispossessory, and Garnishment cases.

Small Claims Court

The Cobb County Magistrate Small Claims Court handles money claims under $15,000.00. A Magistrate judge holds an informal hearing to listen to and decide each case. Any person may file a claim in Magistrate Court without an attorney.

You may have an attorney represent you if you choose, at your own expense. The court does not appoint attorneys for civil cases. Either a person or a business may be sued.


On March 28, 1994, the Magistrate Court of Cobb County’s became the first court in Georgia to implement a volunteer mediation program for small claims cases. Since that time, the program has expanded to allow for the mediation of dispossessory cases and warrant applications.

Participating mediators are state registered by the Georgia Office of Dispute Resolution under the Georgia Supreme Court.


Each of the seventeen judges who staff the bench is elected to four-year terms of office.

  • Chief Judge Brendan F. Murphy
  • Judge Charles Chesbro
  • Judge Louis Feingold
  • Judge Don Hicks
  • Judge Jennifer M. Inmon
  • Judge Quinn M. Kasper
  • Judge Jonathan Marigliano
  • Judge Janné Y McKamey
  • Judge Michael E. McLaughlin
  • Judge Gerald Moore
  • Judge John L. Strauss
  • Judge Lee Tollison
  • Judge Jana J. Edmondson-Cooper
  • Judge Toqeer Chouhan
  • Judge Amanda Perez
  • Judge Tabitha Ponder
  • Judge Timothy Wolfe

Location & Contact Information

32 Waddell Street
Marietta, GA 30090

Phone: 770-528-8900


Weinstein law firm logo
Let's get started with your FREE consultation